PhotoHero

PhotoHero vs Magnific

Freepik renamed its whole company to Magnific on April 28, 2026, taking the name of the upscaler startup it had acquired — magnific.ai now redirects to magnific.com, and existing magnific.ai subscribers keep their old plan on a legacy app until it expires.

Magnific today is a broad creative platform: a 40+ model aggregator (Nano Banana, Kling, Veo, Flux, GPT Image, and its own Mystic model and namesake upscaler), a 250M+ asset stock library, and team workflow tools (Spaces, Flows, Agents). It has no face-swap or head-swap product at all, which makes this less a feature-by-feature comparison than a "different job" one.

Magnific details verified from their own site on . Pricing changes often — check before you buy.

Entry price
PhotoHero
Credit packs from $4.99 (200 credits)
Magnific
Premium: $20/month billed monthly, or $14.50/month billed annually
Free tier
PhotoHero
100 credits on signup (~100 photo swaps, or ~50s of video)
Magnific
Up to 20 image generations per day on the in-house Auto model only; no credit balance, no video, personal-use licence requiring attribution
Watermark
PhotoHero
No watermark on any result made with an account, including the free 100 signup credits. The no-account preview carries one
Magnific
Not stated on their site
Try without an account
PhotoHero
Upload, face detection, face picking and a few image swaps a day all work with no account; signup removes the preview watermark and unlocks video
Magnific
No — an account is required before the first generation, even on the free tier
Video face swap
PhotoHero
Yes — 2 credits per second, MP4/MOV up to 500 MB
Magnific
No — Magnific has no face-swap product
Multiple faces
PhotoHero
Yes — every face detected, assign each individually; 1 credit per face swapped
Magnific
No — Magnific has no face-swap product
Credits expire
PhotoHero
One-time credit packs never expire; optional subscription credits are valid for 1 year and don’t roll over past renewal
Magnific
Monthly plan credits roll over for 12 months (no monthly reset); purchased top-up credit packs (Premium+ and above) last 3 years
Billing model
PhotoHero
Pay-as-you-go credit packs, or an optional subscription
Magnific
Monthly or annual subscription (Premium/Premium+/Pro/Business/Enterprise); credit packs sold as an add-on to a paid plan, not standalone

“Not stated on their site” means we could not verify it from a reliable source, so we have not guessed. Sources: magnific.com pricing

Choose PhotoHero if…

  • →Face and head swap on your own photos and video — Magnific does not offer this at all. It generates and upscales images and video from prompts and reference models; it does not swap an identity into existing footage.
  • →Instant identities: pick or upload a face and swap immediately, with no training. Magnific has no equivalent identity feature to compare.
  • →One-time credit packs bought once never expire, versus Magnific, which sells no standalone one-time pack at all — its monthly plan credits roll over for 12 months but still lapse eventually, and its purchased top-up packs (Premium+ and above only) expire after 3 years.
  • →Upload, face detection, face picking and a few image swaps a day all work with no account; signup removes the preview watermark and unlocks video Magnific requires an account before its very first generation, free tier included.
  • →A published, single price for every job before you run it — no promotional pricing that changes week to week.

Choose Magnific if…

  • →A genuinely best-in-class image and video upscaler — Magnific's namesake product and heritage strength — plus 40+ third-party generation models in one place. PhotoHero's upscaler is a lighter ESRGAN-based tool, not built to the same depth.
  • →A 250M+ stock asset library and team-oriented workflow canvas (Spaces, Flows, Agents) for people producing at scale or in a team, which PhotoHero does not have.
  • →A genuinely generous free tier for straightforward image generation — 20 images a day with no credit balance to track — for someone who only needs occasional AI images.

Why this comparison exists even though the products differ

People researching "AI photo tools" run into Magnific through its upscaler and model-aggregator reputation, and into PhotoHero through face swap — the two show up in adjacent searches without doing the same job. This page is here so that comparison is honest rather than assumed: if you want to put a specific person's face into a photo or video, Magnific does not do that; if you want the widest possible menu of generation models and a professional upscaler, PhotoHero does not do that.

Pricing

Per magnific.com/pricing, checked September 27, 2026: Premium lists at $20/month ($14.50/month billed annually). Premium+ lists at $45/month ($33.75/month annual), and Pro — priced above Premium+, not below it — lists at $110/month ($82.50/month annual). Magnific runs promotional rates from time to time; check the live page for the current number.

All of these are subscriptions. Magnific does not sell a standalone one-time credit pack the way PhotoHero does — its credit packs are an add-on available only to Premium+ and above, and only once you already hold a plan.

Credit expiry: different shapes on each side

Magnific's monthly plan credits actually roll over for 12 months rather than resetting each cycle, per its own pricing page — a genuinely generous policy for a subscription. Its purchased top-up credit packs (Premium+ and above only) last 3 years, which is generous but not indefinite. PhotoHero's one-time credit packs never expire at all — no 12-month or 3-year clock — though PhotoHero's own optional subscription credits are valid for 1 year and don’t roll over past renewal, the same general shape as a subscription plan.

Frequently asked questions

Does Magnific do face swap?+

No. As of September 27, 2026, Magnific is a model-aggregator, upscaler and stock-asset platform with generation and workflow tools; it has no face-swap or head-swap feature. PhotoHero is built specifically around that.

Is Magnific the same company as Freepik?+

Yes — Freepik renamed its whole company to Magnific on April 28, 2026, and magnific.ai now redirects to magnific.com. Existing magnific.ai subscribers can keep using a legacy app until their plan expires.

What does Magnific cost?+

Per magnific.com/pricing, checked September 27, 2026: Premium is $20/month ($14.50/month annual), Premium+ is $45/month ($33.75/month annual), and Pro — the tier above Premium+ — is $110/month ($82.50/month annual). Confirm the current rate on their site, since pricing changes.

Does PhotoHero have a free tier like Magnific's 20 images a day?+

Not quite that shape — PhotoHero gives 100 free signup credits (about 100 photo swaps or 50 seconds of video) rather than a daily image quota. Upload, face detection, face picking and a few image swaps a day all work with no account; signup removes the preview watermark and unlocks video

Do Magnific credits expire?+

Monthly plan credits roll over for 12 months rather than resetting each cycle. Purchased top-up credit packs (available on Premium+ and above) last 3 years. PhotoHero's one-time credit packs never expire; its optional subscription credits are valid for 1 year and don’t roll over past renewal.

Other comparisons

Try it before you decide

Upload a photo, pick the faces, and get a few image swaps a day free — no account needed. Get 100 free credits when you sign up.

Try a face swap free